Life

Camping brings you closer together, and closer to God. 

This past week some of our church members took our youth on a camping trip. The rules were simple: do not bring any electronic devices, have a good time, and learn from God’s Word. We arrived mid afternoon Thursday and stayed until Saturday morning. A fellow member and I had a list of activities planned out, but let’s face it, sometimes the best plans are those that you haven’t planned ahead of time.

Here is a list of activities that did happen:

  • Devotional
  • Prayer time
  • Swimming
  • Kayaking
  • Fishing
  • Archery
  • Volleyball
  • GaGa ball (a new game that I still don’t fully comprehend!)
  • Shooting range
  • Meal time
  • Walk on nature trail
  • Nature trail scavenger hunt
  • Painting our walking sticks
  • Decorating our camp shirts

I’m probably forgetting something, but you can see most of what we were able to do. We all had a blast, and I did not hear one complaint from a child that they couldn’t watch television, text, check email, or surf the Internet. It was refreshing to my soul to see that kids that were born in the 2000’s were able to function, think for themselves, use their imagination, and have a good time without any electronic item. They enjoyed their time of fellowship and soaked up every moment they had viewing God’s creations. I think perhaps the grownups benefitted even more. They could relax, breathe, and enjoy their surroundings. There were no tv shows diluting our minds. The kids seemed to be more relaxed and got into less trouble than usual. Even the devotionals applied to us adults. Let’s face it, the bible is applicable to all ages. 

I learned a lot while on this camping excursion. For starters, I remember why I do not like being away from home overnight, I can’t sleep a wink without my husband sleeping by my side! We may have been married for fourteen years, but I still need him by my side while my eyes close and I drift off into dream land. And he is the first thing I want to see in the morning, no offense to my roommate 🙂 I learned that sometimes I just need to relax and concentrate on our beautiful surroundings. I learned that I need to spend more time focusing on God’s will for my life and not on accumulating stuff. 

Sometimes it is in the still of the moment that God speaks to your heart about something. God has been pricking my heart about my walk and relationship with him and he showed me at this camping trip how important it is not to let the business of the world take over and take away from getting things pleasing to Him. This prompted me to have a family meeting tonight about how we can all do things to strengthen our walk with the Lord. We all agreed on what we felt was the ideal Christian home and discussed how we can change things going forward. My daughter even suggested that we start tonight, so we did. I am so grateful for this opportunity. It’s important to stop and relax. It’s important to take the time to talk to God. It’s certainly important to spend time with family. You don’t need electronics for that! I pray that we continue together on this new path, following God and His plans for our life.  Thank you camp for pointing that out to me!!

One thought on “Camping brings you closer together, and closer to God. 

Leave a Reply

