amish fiction

A Plain & Simple Christmas by Amy Clipston


Do not let the word Christmas in the title fool you. You can read this book any time of year! The focus of the book is more on family, togetherness and forgiveness. It just happens to be at Christmastime, which I love by the way. If you enjoyed the Kauffman Amish Bakery series, you will enjoy seeing some of those characters here.
I have been reading Amy’s books for years, and I enjoyed them so much that I will reread them every now and then. Just so happens that this is the book I chose to reread this time. I am a big fan of Amy’s writing style. She is not too descriptive with her words, which I can sometimes find boring. She writes plots that we may not want to read about, however they are realistic which I think is important. For example, in this story Kathryn went against her husbands wishes in helping Anna Mae plan her visit, and kept it a secret. I’m sure we would all love to imagine that Amish woman respect every single one of their husbands wishes and never go against them, but let’s be honest in saying it is not realistic. I think perhaps there are two points to this. First, no one is perfect. We all make mistakes and do things our own way from time to time. Second, Kathryn truly thought she was following God’s will. If God is truly prompting your heart to do something then you should, absolutely do it. Now, maybe not in this same fashion, but you catch my drift.
My heart went out to Anna Mae. I could not imagine being shunned from my family for following a different path in life. My emotions mirrored hers as I read this story. I felt her heartache, hope, dear, anxiety, nervousness, and happiness. In fact, I have the same reaction no matter what Amy Clipston book I am reading.
If I had one negative thing to say it would be that the story ended. That being said, I think I have a pretty good idea of what happens in the future for these characters. I have such a vivid picture of them in my mind, the options are endless. I highly recommend this short story for those who love Amish fiction, a tale of forgiveness, and a story of hope.

Leave a Reply

