historical

A Haven on Orchard Lane by Lawana Blackwell


My Review

This is the first book I have read by Lawana Blackwell. When I saw it as a choice to read for this month I could not pass the opportunity to feed my interest for Christian Historical Fiction books. I do believe that Lawana has found herself a new fan as this boom did not disappoint me!

I was immediately drawn to the cover. It truly looked like a haven that I found myself thinking about even when I was reading. I appreciated Lawana’s descriptive story telling which enabled me to envision the property beyond the cover photo. It was so easy to imagine the scenes throughout the book as if I was right there with the characters. I love it when an author has the ability to make me feel as if I am part of the story, and that is exactly how I felt!

Although the book in quite lengthy, it did not feel as if the story line dragged on. I believe this may be uses of the several sub-plots the author provided. I felt the tempo of the book was just right and allowed me time to enjoy each individual storyline. I mostly enjoyed reading about Charlotte and Rosalind’s broken yet growing relationship. And while I feel that perhaps this relationship was dealt with a little early in the book, I understand how important it was to allow for future events of the book to fall into place. Charlotte is the type of mother or grandmother you want around to give you advice and cheer you up on a bad day.

My favorite storyline was that of Albert and Danny. Two little boys who were not favored by their stepmother my heart went out to them from the very first scene in the street. Dirty, hungry and unloved. Who could help them? I couldn’t wait to continue their story so I could see how their characters might grow, and perhaps be spared from such an awful life.

This novel is one you will not want to miss! I look forward to other opportunities to read books by Lawana. I received a complimentary copy of this book from Bethany House Publishers in exchange for an honest review which I have given.


Order your copy Here today!


About the Book

Much loved Lawana Blackwell delivers another charming Victorian-era tale. In difficult circumstances, Charlotte Ward, once a famed staged actress, tries to restart her career only to experience disaster. Against her better judgment, her estranged daughter, Rosalind, her mother’s rescue and moves her to a quiet English coastal village. Charlotte is grateful to get to know Rosalind after years apart.

As one who has regrets about her own romantic past, it’s a joy for Charlotte to see love blossom for her daughter. For Rosalind however, it’s time away from teaching and now she must care for the mother who was t there for her. And what could be more complicated than romance? Together, mother and daughter discover that healing is best accomplished when they focus less on themselves and more on the needs of others.

Leave a Reply

