Christian Reading

Love, Lies, and Fireflies Review

Love, Lies, and Fireflies by Jan Elder

About the Book

Didi O’Brien is engaged—at least she was an hour ago. Now she’s not so sure. Her fiancé, the suave Kevin Cabot, has just revealed that he’s been unfaithful, and he’s not the least bit sorry. Reeling from the betrayal, with her plans for a happily-ever-after life in doubt, she prays for direction. The answer comes as a complete surprise. God has someone better in mind.

Middle school teacher, Jake Montgomery, is struggling with some issues of his own. Sadly, a year previously his fiancée had been killed in a car crash. Battling anger and despair, in a mountain-top experience, Jake wrestles with the Almighty, and is ready to live again. In his youth, he’d felt an unmistakable call to the ministry but, like the prophet Jonah, since then, he’s been running hard in the wrong direction.

Through a crisis of faith, and glimpses of mercy, Didi and Jake find each other. But can they find the strength to resolve the many obstacles that conspire to keep them apart?

My Perspective

I love stories where two people who have been through something painful are able to find their way to each other and connect in a special way. I wouldn’t say it’s fate that brings them together, it’s definitely God. This was a wonderful love story – one that I enjoyed reading. I do not like the books that are so mushy I make me squirm or want to close it and move on to something else. This was just right!

I loved the characters of DiDi and Jake. I felt the author did a wonderful job of showing their growth and emotions throughout the book. The only critique I have is how quickly Didi seemed to bounce back after Kevin’s admission of cheating, however I think it was necessary for the storyline and for the possible connection with Jake. I did not like Kevin’s character at all. And don’t take this the wrong way – Ms. Elder did an outstanding job of showing all of his evil features. I picked up on them in the very first scene and saw him just grow more evil as the story went on. I felt scared for Didi at different times because I just wasn’t sure what Kevin would do. I enjoyed this aspect of the story as I think it broke up the “love” storyline enough to keep my interest.

If you are just merely looking for a love story, I don’t think this is the one for you. If you are looking for something more in depth, more character development, and a hint of drama/excitement, then pick this book up today. You won’t be sorry! I received a complimentary copy of this book from the publisher. I was not required to write a good review. All thoughts and opinions are 100% my own.

Purchase your copy here!
Leave a Reply

