Christian Reading

Where Jesus Slept by Norma Lewis

Purchase your copy here
About the book

“This is the bed where Jesus slept. This is the straw that lined the bed where Jesus slept.” From here, the story builds with each spread, adding a new element and explaining the relationships among the participants and witnesses to the first Christmas. From Jesus sleeping sweetly to the wise men bringing gifts, this charming book reminds readers young and not-so-young of the joyous event we celebrate at Christmastime. Children will love the delightful illustrations and the engaging repetition in this cumulative tale.

 

Format: jacketed hardcover

Trim size: 10×10

Page count: 32

Retail price: $16.99

Reading age: 4-7

 My Perspective

What a sweet rendition of the birth of Jesus! I think little ones will absolutely love this book. It is bright, colorful, has repetition, and will appeal to your young ones any time of year. I appreciated the author putting key words in bold print and capital letters. A great way to point to a child the key words on the page. Repetition is also important for a child, so I like that the theme continues on each page and copies that important parts to this story, namely where Jesus slept. I loved the sketches on each page as well. I was a little concerned it might be a little bit too babyish, but I thought the illustrator did an excellent job. I think I may want to read this every year in celebration of Jesus’ birth too!.

I received a complimentary copy of this book from FlyBy Promotions. I was not required to write a positive review. All thoughts and opinions are 100% my own.

About the author

Norma Lewis is the author of ten books. She lives in Grand Haven, MI, with a marmalade cat named Scalawag. They both love spending time with her six grandchildren, ranging in age from three to twenty.

Illustrated by Katy Hudson.

Leave a Reply

