Mystery/Suspense

Moving Target by Lynette Eason Review

Purchase your copy here!

About the Book

When Maddy McKay and Quinn Holcombe don’t show up for Quinn’s surprise birthday party, his friends know that something is very wrong. Their search turns up little beyond evidence that Quinn and Maddy just decided to take off for a long overdue vacation. But it soon becomes apparent that they did not leave of their own accord.

Maddy awakens in a cement room with no idea where she is. But it’s not long before she realizes she’s in the clutches of a madman exacting revenge by hunting. His prey of choice? Humans. Now Maddy and Quinn must run for their lives, hoping to find their killer before the next game begins. Because if they don’t win this game, they die.

Fast, furious, and flirty, Lynette Eason’s relentless suspense barely gives her readers time to catch their breath in this third thrilling installment of the Elite Guardians series.

My Perspective

Every now and then I find myself in the mood for an exciting, thrilling mystery. I loved Without Warning by Lynette Eason, so when I had the opportunity to read Moving Target, I was beyond excited. I wasn’t sure how anything could top what happened to the characters in Without Warning as I remember it being very suspenseful. Then I started reading Moving Target. Yep, it gets better!

This book is jam packed with action, mystery, excitement, and had me on my toes the entire time. I kept commenting to my husband I was reading as if it were real. In fact, I breathed a sigh of relief when I got to the end. Not because it was over, but because I had made it to the end! I could not turn the pages fast enough to see how Quinn and Maddy would deal with this serial killer that seemed to be after them. I almost felt like I was reading an episode of Criminal Minds, at least that’s how it played out in my mind. By the way – I totally got the killer wrong. Hats off to the author in tricking me about that!

Aside from the thrilling chase of Maddy and Quinn from The Chosen One, there were some great character developments that I was looking for from things that happened in the previous book. Quinn and Maddy obviously have a lot of baggage, but a lot of it wasn’t explained in detail before. Looking back however, knowing what I know now, some things from the prior book make sense. Makes me want to reread it to make sure! I love how Ms. Eason chose this plot line to make both characters deal with their underlying issues. It added depth to the story, and a break from all the nail biting!

I highly recommend this to all those thrill seekers, mystery lovers, and readers everywhere. But, to get the most out of the characters and their development, you’ll want to start with the other books first. You’ll appreciate it more if you do! I received a complimentary copy of this book from the publisher. I was not required to leave a complimentary review. All thoughts and opinions are my own.

 About the Author

Lynette Eason

Award-winning, best-selling author, Lynette Eason has written/contracted thirty-six books since 2007. She writes for Harlequin’s Love Inspired Suspense line and for Revell, a division of Baker Publishing Group. Her books have hit the CBA and ECPA bestseller lists. Lynette has been teaching for more than ten years and is very happy to make the transition from teaching school to teaching writing whenever the opportunity presents. She is married, has two children, and lives in Greenville, SC.

Leave a Reply

