Christian Reading

The Gift of Love by Amy Clipston Review

Hello April! So many good things are going on in April. It feels like spring might finally be here. Easter is upon us. Flowers are starting to grow. My dad’s birthday. But perhaps the reason I like April the most is because it is National Donate Life Month. Don’t know what that is? It’s the month of the year that we really try to spread awareness of the fact that YOU can change a life some day. YOU have the gift of donation. Along with the importance of telling your family your wishes.

Why is this so important to me? I’ll share briefly, because I really want to get to the book review. My husband is a two-time liver transplant recipient. Without the courage and kindness of someone else making the decision to donate their organs, he would have died about four or five years ago. I would be with a husband. My daughter would be without her father. My in-laws would be without their son. And the list goes on and on. I am forever grateful to the families that made their decision, and I feel it is my duty to help others know that they can make a difference too by sharing my story. But that is for another post.

I’m going to be honest. I have been dreading reading this book. And please don’t take that out of context. I love Amy’s writing – she is incredibly talented. I have read every book of hers, except this one. Until now that is. I just knew that in reading it old memories would surface and I just wasn’t ready for that to happen. But in light of National Donate Life Month, I felt it was time. Time to learn about the journey of another. I hope you’ll do the same! And…make sure you read the entire post. At the bottom I’ll post a link in how you can sign up to help save a life!!

Purchase your copy here!
About the Book

 In The Gift of Love, bestselling fiction author Amy Clipston shares her story of almost losing the love of her life to kidney disease and the ultimate sacrifice that kept their family together. An ordinary woman who cherishes family above all else, Amy was challenged in every way―from her strength of character to the depths of her faith to the close-knit family that surrounds her. Enduring the good, the bad, and the really bad, she was determined to help her husband once again be the husband and father their family needed.

Amy’s story will give hope and encouragement to anyone who finds themselves waiting on God. Staring down adversity, Amy and her family received the most important gift of all, the gift of love. And regardless of your situation, this gift can be yours too.

An inspirational story of strength and determination, The Gift of Love is the triumph of one woman’s faith against all odds, and a soul-filling reminder that no matter how hard life gets, it is worth fighting for.

My Perspective

This story is full of emotion, sadness, fear, illness, courage, hope and life. Quite a combination, but every single one is necessary for the reader to understand all that Amy Clipston went through in trying to help her husband. First, I need to say thank you to Amy for her willingness to open up about such a personal time in her life. To put your story out like that must have been extremely difficult. Second, I applaud her willingness to spread the word about the importance of organ donation! It is something that I know not a lot of people know about, and even the ones that do have questions, or struggle with decision making. This story might help those people.

Ms. Clipston did a fabulous job of explaining the donation process in a way that is understandable to those not in the medical field. Not once did I find myself wishing I had a dictionary because I didn’t understand what she was talking about! This is crucial in writing a story like this, and I am sure was difficult in the writing process. It’s almost like writing a story for a young child, you have to break down the words in a way that they will understand. I think Amy has mastered that. She also kept the story simple. She didn’t overload the story with too many facts or memories; or share things that would have been a little bit too much information for this book to have a maximizing effect. If it was crucial to her journey, she included it.

Perhaps even more amazing was her ability to be so open and honest about her feelings during this journey. Some authors may have tried to mask their hurts, wishes, or frustrations. Amy did the opposite, and by including these thoughts you were able to empathize and connect with her. I admire her for being so honest and not sugar coating her experience.

There are many reasons for you to read this. Maybe you want to find out about organ donation. Maybe you just want to know a little bit more about Amy and her family. Perhaps you could use a little hope and inspiration. This is the book for you. Don’t wait another minute and read it today!!

Now it’s your turn. YOU can make a difference in someone’s life. Click the link below to find out more. And I’d love to hear your thoughts and stories about donation. Maybe someday I’ll share my own.
Leave a Reply

