Mystery/Suspense

For No Apparent Reason Review, Author Interview AND a Giveaway!!

Any time I have the opportunity to review a new to me author, I get very excited. Not that I need more authors to love, but I want them!! When the opportunity arose for me to read For No Apparent Reason I happily said yes and dove in. Guess what I found out. Another author to love. YAY!! And I’m so happy that she not only offered to be on the blog today, but offered to giveaway a copy of the book to one lucky reading. Check out the giveaway at the end of the blog post!

For No Apparent Reason by [Derban, S.K.]

Purchase your copy here!
About the Book

A focused law student, romance has been absent from Madison’s life. She has successfully planned each phase of her life and resigned to the fact that there will be plenty of time for love after she passes the bar exam—that is until the single act of seeking shelter from a spring downpour dramatically alters the course of her life. Madison is lured away from the security of law school into a world where she learns about the destructive nature of greed. Thrust in a maze of money laundering and murder, Madison experiences the value of true friendship and witnesses the healing power of love.

My Perspective

I immediately fell in love with Madison’s character. She had that nosy but I’m trying to help attitude. Who doesn’t like a character like that? I know in her heart she really felt like she could solve this case on her own even though she probably should have left it to the professionals. If I were in her shoes, the adventurous side of my would have wanted to do the same thing! The author did a great job in writing this part.

Mostly, I enjoyed her interactions with Court. You could tell by the way the author described their thoughts and actions that there was something there, but neither seemed to want to take the first step. I preferred having their romance take a back burner to the mystery of the story. This was smart on the author’s part, as I felt it would have taken away from the main plot line, and their feelings may have interfered with solving the case. The story could have gone down a road that wasn’t necessary, but instead this was the perfect blend of mystery and love.

I hope the sleuth in you will decide to give this a try. It was fun putting all the pieces together and figuring it all out. And…be prepared. You may be way off base like I was when you find out the truth! But hopefully you’ll find that you have a new author to enjoy as well. I received a complimentary copy of this book. I was not required to write a favorable review. All thoughts and opinions are my own.

About the Author

S.K. Derban

Born in Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, S.K. Derban moved to London within the first three months, and remained in England until the age of five. Her mother, born and raised in the United Kingdom, was involved with the London Royal Ballet Company, and a great fan of the arts. Even after returning to the United States, S.K. Derban’s life was filled with a love of the theatre and a passion for British murder mysteries. Her personal travel and missionary adventures also help to transport readers virtually across the globe. S.K. Derban has smuggled Bibles into China on five separate occasions, and has been to Israel on seven missionary trips. When writing, she relies on all aspects of her life, from a strong faith in the Lord, to her unique combination of professional experience. The many personal adventures of S.K. Derban are readily apparent as they shine through into her characters.

Author Interview Yay!

I am so excited to have you on the blog today. Thanks for being here!! Your childhood sounds so interesting, although I’m not sure how much I could remember from when I was five. Do you have any memories of living in England?

Yes, I remember asking my mum about my baby blue snowsuit. “You were only three!” she told me, surprised I had remembered. She then went on to explain how it took a long time to dress me, secure my hood, put on my mittens, and slide my little feet into galoshes. When I was finally ready for a fun time of playing in the snow, I hurried outside only to rush back. It was obviously too cold! I guess I enjoyed staring at my snowsuit rather than wearing it. To this day I can still remember the white furry trim.

I’m sure readers are going to want to know this (or maybe you get asked too often). Do you have a British accent? As a side note, my daughter is obsessed with this particular accent. In fact, we watched Beauty and the Beast and the man who plays the Beast has a British accent so she is basically in love with him. She claims her future husband needs one. I guess Americans are out lol.

Unfortunately my English accent left by the time I reached my teens. I learned how to speak while in England, so my accent was quite strong. However, when I came to the United States I strived to fit in. How silly! I should have embraced being unique.

Sometimes when I am speaking, little parts of my previous accent come to life. I also say “Holiday” rather than “Vacation,” and “Boot” when referring to the trunk of my car. Please tell your daughter I liked the Beast as well!

She will be glad to here that! Your missionary background sounds exciting, scary, and rewarding. Can you share one memory from the mission field that really touched your heart?

One of the many memorable moments had me sobbing. As I write this now, the tears are filling my eyes. My husband and I had successfully smuggled Bibles from Hong Kong into China. We took them by train, and secretly delivered them to a sweet young couple. We traveled in the comfort of a train. They were planning to walk day and night in order to take the Bibles to their village.

Three days later while we were preparing to check out, my husband and I saw the couple who received the Bibles. They were standing in the hotel lobby next to an elderly Chinese man. He must have been at least eighty years old. When we were introduced in the dialect of their village, the man took us in his arms and held on tightly. He was crying, we were crying and through translation we learned how he had just walked for an entire day and night in order to thank us.

There was one Bible for the entire village, and this man was handwriting another copy to share. We had smuggled over fifty copies. Originally after successfully making it across the border, I was filled with a sense of pride. When I met this special man, my pride turned to shame that I had not done more.

Wow what a powerful story! Where did your desire to enter the missions field stem from?

Sadly to write, but keeping it real, I first thought it would be an adventure. Fortunately, we met the special man mentioned above on our very first trip. The desire to do more brought us to China six additional times.

Let’s get to books now. What’s on your TBR pile as we speak?

My sister told me about the book Redeeming Love by Francine Rivers. She really enjoyed it, so I am hoping to read this book soon.

I have heard about that too. You’ll have to let me know how it is! I absolutely loved Madison’s character in For No Apparent Reason. Where did you get the idea for her character and this story?

Originally, Madison was probably born from my love of Nancy Drew books. Madison Rae’s character is a blend of several friends. It is funny when they ask, “Is she me?” They know I will never tell!

As for the idea for this story, I remember waking up after a night of falling rain. In my dreams, I raced to take shelter under the porch of my sister’s North Carolina home. I also remembered dreaming about finding a wrapped package. When I opened it, I found a gold necklace inside, and then woke up. The necklace changed to a brooch, and of course, there had to be a murder.

Nancy Drew lover here 🙂 Do you have any book in the near future? Can you give us any spoilers?

Yes, I have a new book in the editing stage, and no, I cannot give you a spoiler! I do not wish to spoil your reading pleasure.

Circumvent is my next novel. It is an exciting story set in France. I am hoping for a 2017 release.

After Circumvent, my cozy mystery series begins. I think you will adore the main character in the Macaroni on Wheels series.

Please feel free to sign up here to receive email updates. http://eepurl.com/cyYWOH I only send emails when there is actual news.

Awesome I am looking forward to that! In closing, what do you hope readers will take away from your books?

Love will always find a way, beginning with a love for the Lord, and continuing with love for all others.

 

Wow thank you for being on the blog today! What an honor. And now…time for a giveaway! For your chance at a first edition paperback copy of For No Apparent Reason, please comment below with an accent that you find fascinating! And don’t forget to follow this blog on facebook so you’ll know if you won 🙂 Contest closes April 16th at 5:00. Winner will be announced on Monday April 17 on A Baker’s Perspective Facebook page!

8 thoughts on “For No Apparent Reason Review, Author Interview AND a Giveaway!!

Leave a Reply

