amish fiction

Upon a Spring Breeze Review

Am I a big fan of Amish fiction. Anyone who knows me knows that to be true. There are a few authors that I know I am going to like their stories, as they have never disappointed me in the past. Kelly Irvin is one of them. I love her stories! I was excited when I saw Upon A Spring Breeze was coming out and knew it was going to be on my TBR pile. I hurt my back this weekend, which isn’t a good thing, except I got to read. A lot! And so I was able to read this book a lot faster than I originally expected. Happy girl!!

Purchase your copy at amazon!

About the Book

Bess Weaver, twenty and expecting her first child, is in the kitchen making stew for her beloved mann, Caleb, one minute, and the next she’s burying him after a tragic accident. Facing life as a young widow, Bess finds comfort only in tending the garden at an Englisch-owned bed and breakfast—even as she doubts that new growth could ever come after such a long winter.

Aidan tries to repress his guilt over his best friend Caleb’s death and his long-standing feelings for Bess by working harder than ever. But as he spends time with the young son his friend left behind, he seems to be growing closer to the boy’s beautiful mother as well.

When a close-knit group of widows in her Amish community step in to help Bess find her way back to hope, she begins to wonder if Gott has a future for her after all. Will she ever believe that life can still hold joy and the possibility of love?

My Perspective

Such a tragic story. Newlywed and expecting their first child, I was so happy to start reading about Bess and Caleb’s marriage. But then, right near the beginning of the story everything changes. The romantic in me was screaming NNNNOOOOOOO! And then, knowing how the Amish expect their community to move on after tragedy, I was also screaming NO! I didn’t want her to immediately move on and read about this great love story. The emotions were too raw from the tragic accident. I wanted to be with Bess and see how she would truly handle it – in a human way, not the Amish way. I think the author knew this was what I wanted because it’s exactly what she delivered!

Bess struggled after she lost Caleb, a lot. And I found that to be wonderful! Finally we have a story about an Amish woman who is truly grieving the loss of her husband, in her own way and in her own timeframe, not the timeframe the community expects her to have. Then she continued to struggle after her child was born, even with everyone telling her how happy the child should make her, and she should concentrate on that. I get it. The gift of life is not something to take lightly, but when your husband isn’t there to share your happiness it can certainly make it difficult to be joyous. I really appreciated how the author chose to write the character in this way. It was real, relatable, and raw. I easily connected with Bess and found myself wishing I was there to give her a big hug.

Now don’t think this story is all sorrowful, there are certainly some good times and a couple laughable moments. But I chose to concentrate on Bess and her journey to recovery. It was quite the journey. One that I think will inspire people who may be going through something similar. Thanks to the author for writing such a wonderful story! I received a complimentary copy of this book from NetGalley. I was not required to write a favorable review. All thoughts and opinions are my own.

About the Author

Kelly Irvin is the author of several Amish series including the Bliss Creek Amish series, the New Hope Amish series, and the Amish of Bee County series. She has also penned two romantic suspense novels, A Deadly Wilderness and No Child of Mine. The Kansas native is a graduate of the University of Kansas School of Journalism. She has been writing nonfiction professionally for more than thirty years, including ten years as a newspaper reporter, mostly in Texas-Mexico border towns. A retired public relations professional, Kelly has been married to photographer Tim Irvin for twenty-nine years. They have two children, two grandchildren, and two cats. In her spare time, she likes to write short stories and read books by her favorite authors.

 

Have you ever experienced tragedy and recovered in a way that others thought was a little different than the norm?

 

Leave a Reply

