Christian Reading

The Evaporation of Sofi Snow

Welcome to the: Thomas Nelson’s Young Adult Summer of 2017 Feature with

 

About the Book
Title:  The Evaporation of Sofi Snow

Series: The Evaporation of Sofi Snow, Book 1

Author:  Mary Weber
Publisher: Thomas Nelson

Release Date:  June 6, 2017

Genre: Young Adult Fiction / Sci-Fi

For fans of Ender’s Game and Blade Runner comes a story of video gaming, blood, and power.Ever since the Delonese ice-planet arrived eleven years ago, Sofi’s dreams have been vivid. Alien. In a system where Earth’s corporations rule in place of governments and the humanoid race orbiting the moon are allies, her only constant has been her younger brother, Shilo. As an online gamer, Sofi battles behind the scenes of Earth’s Fantasy Fighting arena where Shilo is forced to compete in a mix of real and virtual blood sport. But when a bomb takes out a quarter of the arena, Sofi’s the only one who believes Shilo survived. She has dreams of him. And she’s convinced he’s been taken to the ice-planet.

Except no one but ambassadors are allowed there.

For Miguel—Earth’s charming young playboy—the games are of a different sort. As Ambassador to the Delonese, his career has been built on trading secrets and seduction. Until the Fantasy Fight’s bomb goes off. Now the tables have turned and he’s a target for blackmail. The game is simple: Help the blackmailers, or lose more than anyone can fathom, or Earth can afford.

From the award-winning author of the Storm Siren Trilogy, step into a diverse cast of characters spanning from the electric metropolises of earth to the chilling alien planet above, in a story of re-finding yourself in the midst of losing the one thing you love. Before it all evaporates.

My Perspective

Wow. I am still reeling from the end of this book. I want more. I need more. You can’t leave me hanging! It’s kind of like when a season finale of your favorite show cuts off at the end with the main character hanging in limbo and you just can’t wait until September to find out if they make it or not. Same concept here – I cannot wait for the next release! I need to know what will happen to these characters! But alas, I don’t have a choice and in the meantime my mind is going to run wild with different scenarios. I wonder if I can telepathically send them to the author so they can be included in the next installment?

When I first started reading this book I wasn’t so sure I was going to understand what was happening. I felt like I had entered the “gamers on steroids” world. But the more I read, the more fascinated I became. In a world full of codes, futuristic approaches, and real-life video gaming, I didn’t think I’d be able to comprehend anything the author was writing. But here’s the thing – I did! This was so well written that even a non coder (I don’t even understand HTML!) could understand what was happening. And, thankfully, that was only part of the storyline. The story had great characters, intense scenes, and a strong heroine that you couldn’t help but cheer on. The deeper I got into the storyline, the more hungry I became to read it. And once I got to the last third of the book, there was no going back. I had to finish!

Do not be intimidated by this book, I promise you it’ll be ok. But…this is not for those readers who expect a completed ending. It won’t happen here and trust me when I say that is a good thing. That means I have something to look forward to! I encourage you to go along this rollercoaster of a book. It will keep you at the edge of your seat, and even make you think a little bit about what our world could possibly be like down the road!

I received a complimentary copy of this book. I was not required to write a favorable review. All thoughts and opinions are my own.

Excerpt
Taken from “The Evaporation of Sofi Snow” by Mary Weber Copyright © 2017 by Mary Christine Weber. Used by permission of http://www.thomasnelson.com/.
THE PLANET
The ice-planet arrived in the dusky heat of summer twilight during Earth’s Fourth World War. Just when the moon’s jeweled fingers were slipping through that one broken slat in the barn roof that Papa always said he’d fix but never did. The same slat through which he’d pointed out Ella’s favorite star to Sofi and her brother, Shilo.
As if everything within Papa’s wrecked heart was trying to keep their focus off Earth’s brutality by reminding them of their half sister’s spot in the heavenly skies. As if their forsaken little hearts needed any reminding of where her spot—or their mother’s—should be.
“Shh.” Papa put a finger to his lips and beckoned Sofi over to watch the planet settle in place. “I won’t let anyone harm you. See how it’s moving across the moon?”
Six-year-old Sofi mimicked him to her brother, putting her own finger to her lips. “Shh. They’re coming, Shi, but we won’t let them harm you.” To which baby Shilo spit and giggled before swatting at a firefly.
Sofi pulled his tiny hand into hers as the sinister globe stopped a good distance beyond the moon—and
Uncomfortably too close to Earth. To them. To their little broken-slatted barn that sat planted like a patch of sumac right on the decimated border of Old North Carolina and the rest of the starving, war-ravaged world.
“Planet Delon” the broadcasters had called it.
“The Delonese Death” was what her expatriate neighbor, Mr. Watte, was calling it.
“The blasted planet from the pit of you know where” was what Sofi had decided to call it . . .
That had been years ago.
Eleven to be exact.
But now here she was . . .
Standing in the same place, same barn—just missing a few walls—with Shilo.
Still calling it that.
A sudden rustling emerged from the overgrown bushes, causing Sofi to glance around.
“You think it’s the tech buyer?” Shilo’s twelve-year-old voice cracked mid whisper.
She peered into the dark. “I don’t know, but if I tell you to run for the hover, you run.”
He looked insulted. “And ditch? More like I’ll kick whoever’s sorry bu—”
A boy emerged. Two boys in fact, each barely older than she was. Clearly drugged up. Skin and bones. Like many in the populations being “overseen” by the United World Corporations. The bigger kid held out a broken-tipped knife and Shilo slid in front of Sofi—never mind she was half-a-head taller than her brother.
Sofi scowled. She shouldn’t have let him coerce her into bringing him. Especially for the thrill of earning a few extra bucks off her old tech devices.
TO PURCHASE A COPY OR ADD IT ON GOODREADS

Amazon

Goodreads

Book Depository

Indiebound

Itunes

CBD


About the Author
Mary Weber is a ridiculously uncoordinated girl plotting to take over make-believe worlds through books, handstands, and imaginary throwing knives. In her spare time, she feeds unicorns, sings 80’s hairband songs to her three muggle children, and ogles her husband who looks strikingly like Wolverine. They live in California, which is perfect for stalking L.A. bands, Joss Whedon, and the ocean.

 
CONNECT WITH MARY:  website ⎸ facebook ⎸twitter ⎸instagram
Tour Schedule
 
 
Giveaway

(3) Winners will each win a finished hard copy of The Evaporation of Sofi Snow by Mary Weber, courtesy of Thomas Nelson Publishers. Giveaway ends on May 26, 2017, 11:59 PM EST.

Advertisements

9 thoughts on “The Evaporation of Sofi Snow

  1. Thanks for the great review. It made me want to read this exciting book. I do love books that are like rollercoasters and keep my emotions turning and surprise me with sudden twists in the track.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s