Mystery/Suspense

If I’m Found Review

Phew. I could not read this book fast enough (darn work!). I had to keep telling that tiny voice in my head to not skip ahead to find out what happens to Casey. Had to remind myself that the best part of a story is the journey and not the ending. Alas, amidst night reading, lunch break reading, and even reading while cooking dinner – don’t worry I didn’t burn anything – I finally finished. And while usually I can breathe a sigh of relief knowing how it ended, I couldn’t do that this time. Instead I grunted and let out a frustrating sigh, sharing my annoyance of having to wait a year to find out what happens next. I get it….it takes a lot from authors to write and we should allow them time to research, write, edit, etc… Ms. Blackstock, if you are reading this, I would love it if we can change the release date of book three to like, tomorrow 😉 Just kidding. Maybe. Maybe not.

Purchase your copy at Amazon

About the Book

Casey Cox is still on the run, fleeing prosecution for a murder she didn’t commit. Dylan Roberts—her most relentless pursuer—is still on her trail, but his secret emails insist he knows the truth and wants to help her. He’s let her escape before when he had her in his grasp, but trust doesn’t come easily.

As Casey works to collect evidence about the real murderers, she stumbles on another unbearable injustice: an abused child and a suicidal man who’s also been falsely accused. Casey risks her own safety to right this wrong and protect the little girl from her tormenters. But doing so is risky and may result in her capture—and if she’s captured, she has no doubt she’ll be murdered before she ever steps foot in a jail cell.

My Perspective
I am blown away by this series. Not only is it an interesting storyline, but Ms. Blackstock has such a way with words. A good suspense story will keep you on your toes, always looking over your shoulder, biting your nails, and keep your heart pounding through every scene. This book does that and more. I couldn’t put it down. If I didn’t have to work, I would have read it in one day, all in one sitting. It was that good.

Let me start by gushing over how much I enjoy reading about Casey. Sure, her main focus is to not get caught, but then these things seem to happen that pull her back into the real world. Some may say that she grew weak in wanting to help the people she met along the way. I see her differently. I see her as this strong woman who has powerful instincts to help others in distress, even if it puts herself at risk. I found myself easily relating to her and sympathizing with her. Part of me was screaming to ignore these situations and save herself, and part of me was screaming to please help these poor people no matter what happens. I’m not going to lie, there are some tough topics in this book. But they are presented well, and in more of a tell you it’s happening kind of way rather than go into gruesome details. I’m glad the author chose to present them in this fashion because I found it easier to read.

I’m glad Ms. Blackstock stuck to having a couple different POVs throughout the chapters. It is nice as a reader to see how two sides are coming together (Dylan and Casey). It makes the storyline more enjoyable, more exciting, and more emotional. You really get to see the emotional connection start to form between Dylan and Casey in this installment. And don’t mistake that for being a sappy love story, it is anything but that. Relying on each other and only on each other makes them form this bond that they probably cannot even identify with everything that’s going on. But I certainly think it sets the tone for future possibilities!

Now that this installment is over I find myself sad and eagerly awaiting the next installment to come out. Having to wait for almost a year to read that is going to be torture. But, I’m almost certain book three will be worth the wait. 🙂

I received a complimentary copy of this book. I was not required to write a favorable review. All thoughts and opinions are my own.

 About The Author

Terri Blackstock is a New York Times best-seller, with over six million copies sold worldwide. She has had over twenty-five years of success as a novelist. Terri spent the first twelve years of her life traveling in an Air Force family. She lived in nine states and attended the first four years of school in The Netherlands. Because she was a perpetual “new kid,” her imagination became her closest friend. That, she believes, was the biggest factor in her becoming a novelist. She sold her first novel at the age of twenty-five, and has had a successful career ever since.

In 1994 Terri was writing for publishers such as HarperCollins, Harlequin, Dell and Silhouette, when a spiritual awakening drew her into the Christian market. As she was praying about her transition, she went on a cruise and noticed that almost everyone on the boat (including her) had a John Grisham novel. It occurred to her that some of Grisham’s readers were Christians, and that if she wrote a fast-paced thriller with an added faith element, she might just find her niche. As God would have it, Christian publishers were showing interest in the suspense genre, so she quickly sold a four-book series to Zondervan. Since that time, she’s written over thirty Christian titles, most of them suspense novels.

Besides entertaining her readers, Terri tackles issues that she hopes will change lives. Her recent book, Predator, was inspired by her experiences on Facebook and Twitter, and her concern that people posted too much personal information about themselves. The book deals with an online predator who uses social networks as his playground. She hopes the book will change readers’ online habits. Her New York Times best-seller, Intervention, was inspired by her own personal struggles with a daughter on drugs. In the book, a mother hires an interventionist for her drug-addicted daughter. But on the way to treatment, the interventionist is murdered, and the daughter disappears. Barbara, the mother, sets out to search for her daughter. Terri modeled Barbara after herself, and poured many of her own emotions and experiences into that character. As a result, many families experiencing drug addiction have written to thank her for telling their story and giving them hope.

Other recent books include her stand-alone novel Shadow in Serenity, and Vicious Cycle (Book 2 in her Intervention Series). She’s also known for popular series such as the Restoration Series, the Cape Refuge Series, the Newpointe 911 Series, and the SunCoast Chronicles series.

Terri has appeared on national television programs such as “The 700 Club” and “Home Life,” and has been a guest on numerous radio programs across the country. The story of her personal journey appears in books such as Touched By the Savior by Mike Yorkey, True Stories of Answered Prayer by Mike Nappa, Faces of Faith by John Hanna, and I Saw Him In Your Eyes by Ace Collins.

Leave a Reply

