Christian Reading

If Only Review and Interview with T.K. Chapin!

I am so excited to have author T.K. Chapin on the blog today! I’ve read a few of his books before, but they were kind of all romance type themes. This book was totally different, and very eye opening. Please join me in welcoming T.K. to the bog today!!

Before we get to the interview…..let’s learn more about one of his latest books.

Purchase your copy here

About the Book

How far will one mother go to find her child?

A full year after a painful divorce, Elizabeth’s seventeen-year-old daughter Lillian decides to visit a friend over the Fourth of July weekend but never returns home. With the help of her neighborhood friend Cole, Elizabeth tries to make sense of what really happened and hopefully bring her daughter home.

My Perspective

As I reader, I loved this book. As a mother, it terrified me, at first. But what helped ease the sacredness was the author’s ability to write from both mom and daughter point of view. I can already connect with the mothers point of view by imagining it was my own daughter who had gone missing. By including Lilly I got to understand where she was coming from, and although it was still terrifying, it somehow helped.

I enjoyed the timeline of the POV’s as well. Having Elizabeth’s story as it stands now allows the reader to feel her dread, anxiety and every other worrisome emotion she had. It makes you want to get out there and search for Lilly yourself. I’m glad that he chose not to have her go insane. Instead she stayed somewhat grounded and that made the story much more enjoyable to read.

Lilly’s POV began months prior to her disappearance and gave you a glimpse into the life and problems she had that led to her disappearance. Let’s face it, this stuff happens in real life and while it is certainly a difficult topic to write/read about, I think sometimes it’s necessary to have them. I enjoyed seeing her growth through the story, which may sound funny, but you’ll have to read it to get a full understanding of why I say this.

Overall this is a story of redemption. We all make mistakes, and falter away, but Jesus is right there waiting for us to come back. As you’re reading this focus on that, and hopefully this story will uplift your spirits and move you! I received a complimentary copy of this book. I was not required to write a favorable review. All thoughts and opinions are my own.

Interview with T.K. Chapin!

Welcome to the blog today! Can you start by telling us a little bit about yourself?

My real name is Benjamin Chapin, but I write under the name T.K. Chapin. I am a born again Christian who loves God and writes to glorify Him. I am married to my lovely wife Crystal Chapin for over 7 years now, and we have three children. Emma is my little princess and our boys Issac and Landon.

Christian Suspense Books are quickly becoming a favorite of mine. Where did you get the idea for If Only?

When coming up with If Only, I thought of my daughter Emma. I aged her and pictured horrible scenarios that I would never want to happen. After some prayer I realized what this book should be about, I wanted a parent who loved their child paralleling with how God loves us. No matter what her daughter did Elizabeth still loved her and wanted her to come back, just like God wants us to come back to Him.With these truths in hand, I felt I could write a compelling suspense novel and still show God’s love.

Do you have another book in the works? Can you share anything about it?

Currently, I am working on and editing the book ‘The Lies We Believe.’ It’s about a father that is fearful of losing his daughter to a cult. It’s an intense read and another Christian suspense I hope my readers will enjoy. Here is the link to the pre-order on Amazon if you wanted to check it out: https://www.amazon.com/dp/ B0728F1WZF/
What’s on your current TBR list?
I really want to read The Missing Ones by Patricia Gibney. It’s a thriller and I enjoy studying other authors.
Let’s talk traveling for a moment. If you could go anywhere in the world, where would you go and why?
I would love to visit New Zealand! Beautiful beaches, nice weather year around and the glow worm cave.
Have you ever had to travel to research for one of your books?
All of my books are in or around Spokane Washington where I grew up. When I visit (about once a year) it jogs my memory but I have never HAD to visit there for research.
Which book setting location would you most like to visit?
I would probably want to visit the farm from ‘The Perfect Cast.’ It was a place of childhood fun and the memories I have there are treasured. I don’t know who owns it now, so whenever I do visit Spokane I don’t go out there. It wouldn’t be the same without my grandparents alive and living there anyways.
What is it that you hope readers will take away from reading If Only?
I hope my readers read ‘If Only‘ and take away the truth that God’s love for us is powerful, just like a mother’s love for a child. I also hope they under that it’s through a relationship with Him that we can have His joy even when life is difficult and confusing.
Can you share one fun fact that readers may not know about you?
A fun fact about me is that I enjoy black coffee a lot. I picked this trait up from my father when I was younger. I remember it taking about two months to get over the taste, but now I don’t need all that added sugar or cream, just a little water and I’m good.
Thank you so much for stopping by and talking with us today! I happen to like coffee a lot too….but cream and sugar is a must!
About the Author

T.K. CHAPIN is an award winning Inspirational Christian Fiction author who designs his stories to inspire and tug on your heart strings. He believes that telling authentic stories of faith, love and family helps build the faith of believers while inviting non-believers into the reality of God. Each story highlights how God can work in the lives of those who follow Him.

Chapin gives all credit for his writing and storytelling abilities to God. The majority of his stories take place in and around his hometown of Spokane Washington. Chapin & his wife reside in Southeast Idaho and have three children. When not writing, he enjoys traveling, swimming and spending time with friends & family.

Connect with him:

Facebook ⋆ Twitter ⋆ Website ⋆ Amazon ⋆ Google+
One thought on “If Only Review and Interview with T.K. Chapin!

Leave a Reply

