historical

A Love So True by Melissa Jagears Review!

I’m slowly getting caught up on my TBR list and I’m glad I finally got to this one. I think I have read more historical novels in the past year then I have read in my entire life, and I am thoroughly enjoying them. This one is no different! And although it’s not the first book in this particular series, I felt it was just fine as a stand alone. But let’s face it, we’ll all enjoy reading the other books first, or after. Just as long as we read them šŸ™‚

About the Book

lovesotrueClick here to purchase

Evelyn Wisely has a heart for the orphans of Teaville and works at a local mansion that rescues children out of the town’s red-light district and gives them a place to live. But her desire to help isn’t limited to orphans. The owner of the mansion, Nicholas Lowe, is willing to help her try to get the women working in prostitution out of the district as well–if she can gain the cooperation and support of local businessmen to go against the rest of the community.

David Kingsman has recently arrived in Teaville from Kansas City to help with one of his father’s companies in town. While he plans on staying only long enough to prove his business merit to his father, he’s shown interest in Evelyn’s work and is intrigued enough by her to lend his support to her cause.

They begin with the best of intentions, but soon the complications pile up and Evelyn and David’s dreams look more unattainable every day. When the revelation of a long-held secret creates a seemingly insurmountable rift between them, can they trust God still has a good plan for them despite all that is stacked against them?

My Perspective

I have really enjoyed reading a lot of historical fiction novels lately, and this one is no exception. Evelyn is a character that you immediately take a liking to. She has such a heart for helping people, and this way about her that is different than most of the historical heroines I read about. I had a huge smile on my face when I read the first scene between her and David. David was just an intrigued with her as I was. What I liked most about her was her attitude. She didn’t really care what David thought of her, and I found it humorous that she snorted when he mentioned he saw her at the Hawk and Eagle Soda Fountain. She just had the quirkiness about her that was very enduring.

I also found myself drawn to David’s character. I like seeing how a character in his position will react. David is that character that is kind of pushed around by his father, but has different thoughts and ideas in his own head. I was anxious to see if he would try to disobey his father on the sly, or be upfront with what he wanted to do as far as the business was concerned. In addition, I felt the author did a fantastic job of bringing some different aspects to this story, such as trying to help the “troubled” women in this town, and Evelyn’s desire to help them and get them some stable and safe jobs. I’m sure this happened back in this time period, but I assume it was done secretly and not at all publicized.

Overall this was a great historic read. I found it to be much more than a love story. It was a story of grace, helping others, and standing up for what you believe is right. I received a complimentary copy of this book. I was not required to write a favorable review. All thoughts and opinions are my own.

About the Author

lovesotrueuathor

Much to her introverted self’s delight, Melissa Jagears hardly needs to leave her home to be a homeschooling mother and historical romance novelist. She doesn’t have to leave her house to be a housekeeper either, but she’s doubtful she meets the minimum qualifications to claim to be one in her official bio. Her passion is to help Christian believers mature in their faith and judge rightly. Find her online at www.melissajagears.com.

 

Leave a Reply

