First Line Friday

First Line Friday – The Writing Desk!

Happy Friday everyone! It has been a really busy week for me, how about you? We had VBS at church this week. I love VBS – we have a great time with the kids, and I am in charge of games. What’s more fun than that? But between working, blogging, and that, I am completely tired out by the end of the week! So worth it though, especially when a child is saved because of it. We are just a tiny little church, so while some may frown at only one child being saved, we rejoice!

I did carve out some reading time. Okay, technically I had this book finished before VBS started, which I am grateful for, because I haven’t read a lot since! I have been waiting for Rachel Hauck’s The Writing Desk to come out for months. I love her stories, and the moment I saw the cover on this one I knew I was in for a treat! You can check out my review this weekend. For now, here is the first line!

writing deskClick here to purchase

This should be her night of triumph.

 

There you have it guys! And now it’s your turn! Open the book nearest to you and share the first line in the comments! And make sure to check out what my friends are reading this week! Happy Friday!

All The Book Blog Names Are Taken  /  Bibliophile Reviews

Bookworm Mama  /  Encouraging Words From The Tea Queen

Faithfully Bookish  /  Fiction Aficionado

Lauraines Notes  /  Radiant Light

Reading is my SuperPower  /  Robins Nest

Singing Librarian  /  Kathleen Denly

With A Joyful Noise  /  Joy of Reading

CJane Read  /  Moments Dipped In Ink

Molly’s Cafinated Reads  /  Romances of the Cross

22 thoughts on “First Line Friday – The Writing Desk!

  1. I’m halfway through The Writing Desk and loving it! Happy Friday!! My first line us from A Matter of Trust by Susan May Warren: “Gage Watson blamed the trouble on the bright, sunny day.”

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Happy Friday!

    My first line comes from Julian Fellowes’s Belgravia.

    The past, as we have been told so many times, is a foreign country where things are done differently.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I want to read that book! It’s on my Kindle wishlist.
    My first line is from Anne Love’s “The Gardener’s Daughter” in the Of Rags and Riches romance collection.
    Thump, Thump. She could plant herself in a library world such as this one forever.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. One child is celebration-worthy! Such a blessing.
    “Just so, I tell you, there is joy before the angels of God over one sinner who repents.” — Luke 15:10

    First line from Crazy House by James Patterson:
    Thank God for programmable coffeemakers, that’s all I want to say.

    but the God was actually lowercase 😦

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

