First Line Friday

First Line Friday – Flower Edition

Hi everybody! Sorry about my absence last week. I was still recovering from vacation time and my brain was just fried. Glad to be back this week! My brain may not totally there yet, but I’ve been reading a lot this week, so that is a good thing. Be warned. There may be a big span of review posts coming!

Anyways, as I’m playing catch up to my ever growing TBR pile, I came across today’s book. It’s called The Sweet Smell of Magnolias and Memories. The title alone captures my interest – I am kind of a nature nerd. I love flowers (can’t identify them, but I can enjoy their looks and scent!). I hope that the book is just as captivating as the title. I’ll let you know soon!

Today’s first line is……..

Click here to purchase

Prolugue first line:

 

He kissed her again.

And just because that is so short, here’s the first line from chapter one:

“I thought this day would never come.” Willow Washington said as she swirled around in front of the full-length mirror and admired her reflection in the yards and yards of silk and lace and pearls.

And now it’s your turn to share what you are reading! Open the book nearest to you and share the first line in the comments! And make sure to check out what my friends are reading this week! Happy Friday!!!

All The Book Blog Names Are Taken  /  Bibliophile Reviews

Bookworm Mama  /  Encouraging Words From The Tea Queen

Faithfully Bookish  /  Fiction Aficionado

Lauraines Notes  /  Radiant Light

Reading is my SuperPower  /  Robins Nest

Singing Librarian  /  Kathleen Denly

With A Joyful Noise  /  Joy of Reading

CJane Read  /  Moments Dipped In Ink

Molly’s Cafinated Reads  /  Romances of the Cross

It’s Storytime with Van Daniker  /  Iola Goulton

Christian Fiction Girl  Book Reviews by Tima

12 thoughts on “First Line Friday – Flower Edition

  1. Not often you get a kiss at the beginning of a story!

    I’ve got the first line from “Will Not See” by Chautona Havig over on my blog today. Since it’s the second book in the ‘Sight Unseen’ series, I thought I would share the first line (or two) from the first book in the series, “None So Blind”, here:

    “Her arm stretched out from beneath the covers. Later, she would admit that in that moment her world changed irrevocably.”

    Have a great weekend!

    Like

  2. Welcome Back!

    Huge hands ripped at Cole Sanders’ shirt and yanked him away from Audrey Vaughn’s embrace. Tackling the Fields by Janet Ferguson

    Have a wonderful weekend!

    Like

  3. Ooh I think I’m going to like this one! It’s rare to see a kiss in the first part of the book.

    I’m featuring “A Name Unknown” by Roseanna M. White on the blog today, but the closest book I have to me right now is “The Writing Desk” by Rachel Hauck.

    “This should by night of triumph. To be queen of her world. An acclaimed, best-selling, award-winning author with the literati bowing at her feet.”

    Happy Weekend!

    Like

  4. Happy Friday! My first line is from Destitutio by Brett Armstrong, which I am excited to start reading:
    “The grisly, grey swirls churned up before Marcus, a thin mask to the merciless heat.”

    Like

  5. Flowers! How fun!

    That first line!!! Wow…

    This weekend I’m reading Kim Vogel Sawyer’s “Bringing Maggie Home.” I’m a little over halfway and it’s such a GREAT read! Here’s the first line:
    Mid-July 1943
    “Hazel set a porcelain cup and saucer on the overturned apple crate in front of her little sister. ‘Madam, would you like cream and sugar in your tea?'”

    Like

  6. Conner O’Shea braced his boots against the auction block and glared at the crowd gathered on the landing.
    From The Promise of Breeze Hill by Pam Hillman

    Like

  7. Sounds like a good book! I’ll watch for your review 🙂
    My first line this week is from Vow Unbroken by Caryl McAdoo
    “He took the pinch of cotton Sue offered and rubbed it between his short, pudgy fingers.”

    Like

  8. I’m currently in the middle of reading Rule of Law by Randy Singer. It’s not typically a genre (military/legal) I read, but it’s so engaging. Here’s the first line:

    “They descended like vultures from the C-17 transport plane, silhouettes against a quarter moon in a tar-black sky.”

    Like

Leave a Reply

