Christian Reading

Puzzle House Review and Giveaway!

Every now and then you get the opportunity to read something different. Something that is totally outside the box. Something that makes you really think about things. Now, the book that I am sharing with you today does have a character who meets Jesus, and has what I would call an out of body experience. People have differing views about this, and I am not going to get into the politics of it.  What I will say is this – my beliefs may or may not agree with the reality of this happening, however I am reviewing this as reading for entertainment, which I have said on other posts. You can all make your own assumptions, but I encourage you to look past that and see the overall message from this book!

Okay, disclosure over. Let’s get to the latest book from Lillian Duncan!

About the Book

Puzzle House by [Duncan, Lillian]
Click here to purchase
Life isn’t a box of candy—it’s a puzzle!

Rachel Summers is all about Rachel Summers…until the day she crashes headlong into a semi-truck. As her life hangs in the balance, she has a visitor who asks a very simple question.

Does she want to be healed or to be a healer?

She makes her choice, but the journey doesn’t go quite the way she expected.

And so Rachel now runs Puzzle House. Every guest is different and yet the same. They all come to the Puzzle House for one reason and one reason only—to be healed, usually from a life-threatening illness. Sometimes they receive their miracle, and sometimes they discover there’s more than one kind of healing.

Nia is a fifteen-year-old African-American girl who is dying. The doctors have told her there is nothing else to be done. No more treatments. No more hope. No more life. And she’s angry about that. Very angry. Against her wishes, Nia’s aunt brings her to The Puzzle House.

Together, Nia and Rachel will take a journey that will change both their lives.

My Perspective

I loved the use of the puzzle as a way for Rachel to share God’s love with others. The Puzzle House wasn’t necessarily for healing people physically, it was more about healing people spiritually. To be honest, I could imagine a similar place existing in real life. I could certainly benefit a lot of people. It could serve almost like a rehab, except really what they are gaining is a love for the Lord and the knowledge that He loves and cares for them. This concept just really resonated with me, and the story just really spoke to me in that aspect.

It was really neat to read about Rachel’s background, and how God molded her into the person she was today. It was a time of trials, errors, accomplishments, and most importantly, growth in her faith. It have me hope in knowing that I can have struggles, but still come out better on the other side, because God is always there with me. When I focused on the overall theme of the book, rather than the things that I was unsure if I agreed with or not, I found that it really spoke volumes and touched my heart.

No matter your beliefs, no matter if you agree with certain topics presented, please still give this book a chance. Look into the deeper meaning behind the story. Look at it from the spiritual healing aspect – something we all need at some point in our lives, whether we want to admit it or not. I think you’ll find that you enjoy the story and the message!

I received a complimentary copy of this book. I was not required to write a favorable review. All thoughts and opinions are my own.

About the Author

 duncan

Lillian Duncan…Stories of faith mingled… with murder & mayhem.

Lillian is a multi-published author who lives in the middle of Ohio Amish country with her husband and a menagerie of pets. After more than 30 years working as a speech pathologist for children, she believes in the power of words to transform lives, especially God’s Word.

Lillian writes the types of books she loves to read—fast-paced suspense with a touch of romance that demonstrates God’s love for all of us. To learn more about Lillian, you may visit her at www.lillianduncan.net or www.lillian-duncan.com. She also has a devotional blog at www.PowerUpWithGod.com.

Giveaway

Friends, Lillian is hosting a giveaway right now on her blog! How do you enter? Simple. See the message from Lillian below:

To celebrate the release of Puzzle House, I’m having a very special giveaway on my blog, Tiaras & Tennis Shoes at www.lillian-duncan.com. Leave a comment on one of my Puzzle House posts and you’ll be entered to win. Thanks! – Lillian

 

 

5 thoughts on “Puzzle House Review and Giveaway!

  1. I don’t necessarily disagree with Jessica Baker about the initial premise of the book. But it’s fiction–a figment of my imagination. Could it happen? Of course, with God all things are possible. Did it happen to me? Absolutely not. Thanks for reading the book and keeping an open mind Jessica and thanks for your kind words.

    Like

    1. That’s the great thing about fiction…we can make anything happen!! Thanks for giving me the opportunity to read it, it really touched my heart. Looking forward to what is next….I mean no pressure or anything 😀

      Like

  2. It’s been fun following this tour because I love puzzles and this book intrigues me! What a powerful testimony Lillian has and then to have God give her books to write! I am really looking forward to reading Puzzle House!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

