First Line Friday

First Line Friday – Charming the Troublemaker

Welcome to another First Line Friday hosted by Hoarding Books!

I can’t believe that we are into November already. The time is going by so quickly. At my house, it is the start of the Christmas season. Don’t worry – I do not overlook Thanksgiving. But I enjoy Christmas so much that I want to listen to the music and watch the movies for as long as I can. How about you? Do you wait until December, or start a bit early?

This week I’m sharing the first line from Pepper Basham’s new book. Not only do I love her writing, but I love her. She is funny, sweet, and just a joy to be around. Her books are full of swoon-worthy moments, lovely characters, and quirkiness. If you haven’t read anything from Pepper, you need to go get one of her books. Right now…don’t even read the rest of this post!

Today’s first line……

Click here to purchase

Loser ex-husbands and freezing January afternoons left a nasty chill.

See what I mean? Pepper is great! You will love all her stories. Have you bought one yet? You won’t regret it if you do 🙂

And now it’s your turn to share your first line! Grab the book nearest to you and share the first line in the comments. Don’t forget  to check out what everyone else is reading at the new home for First Line Friday at Hoarding Books!

grab button for First Line Fridays hosted by Hoarding Books

32 thoughts on “First Line Friday – Charming the Troublemaker

  1. There seem to be a lot of us reading Pepper Basham’s book this week. 🙂

    For my first line, I’m featuring Masquerade by Janette Rallison which I re-read this week.

    “Opportunity didn’t knock for Slade Jacobson – it rang his cell phone at 10:34 pm while he was putting his daughter to bed for the third time.”

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Pepper’s books are always fantastic! The scene in the car with the underoos was absolutely hilarious.

    The first line of the book I’m currently reading is:

    England, December 23, 1813
    Holly Gray’s courage faded with every step she took deeper inside the castle conservatory where, according to Grandfather’s stories, a ghost resided.

    Christmas Secrets by Donna Hatch

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I Absolutely love reading Pepper’s books!! ❤

    Over on my blog I’m sharing the first line from Sarah Monzon’s latest book just released this week; “The Esther Paradigm”. I’m just over half-way through the book, and I’m loving the story. But you’ll have to go over there to read the first line for The Esther Paradigm. Here I’ll share with you the first line from an older favorite.

    Bedford, England — May 1659
    “The babe’s crying would rip her heart to shreds if she had to listen to it one more minute.” — The Preacher’s Bride by Jody Hedlund

    Liked by 1 person

  4. LOVE, LOVE this book!!! Happy Friday!

    My first line is from Pepper Basham’s Charming the Troublemaker:

    “Loser ex-husbands and freezing January afternoons left a nasty chill.”

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Haha, that’s funny! I literally just saw Katie from Fiction Aficionado share this exact same book. Looks like I really need to read this!

    I’m featuring The Princess Bride on my blog, but I’m currently reading Meg Mitchell & the Secret of the Journals by Kimberly McNeil so I’ll share that here.

    Prologue
    If I say I go to the White Raven for the food, I’d be lying, and I’m a journalist, which means I don’t lie.

    Happy Friday!

    Liked by 1 person

  6. My first line is from Holly and Ivy by Fern Michaels:

    “You’re too young to be hanging around with a bunch of old ladies. You need to be with girls your own age,” Daniel Greenwood explained to his eleven-year-old daughter, Holly.

    Have a great weekend!

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Excited to read this book!

    Happy Friday!!! Today, I’m showcasing A Mother For His Family by Susanne Dietze. So here I will share the first two lines from the novel next in line on my review pile, Deadly Proof by Rachel Dylan.

    “You can’t call that a settlement offer.” Kate Sullivan looked directly into the dark eyes of her opposing counsel, who represented a medical device company.

    Liked by 1 person

  8. I start watching Christmas movies now, but I usually wait to listen to Christmas music around Thanksgiving. And we all put up our tree after Thanksgiving, yet I know many people put it up now. 🙂 Happy Friday!

    Liked by 1 person

  9. First line twins! Such a good book!

    I’m going to leave you with the first line of a book I’ll be reviewing tomorrow, ‘The Bachelor Missions’ by Jes Drew:

    “One bulky figure stands alone in the rain, keeping his head down–his identity obscured by a hat and large raincoat.”

    Liked by 1 person

  10. Pepper Basham has a lot of fans around here!

    I’m sharing from Blue Ridge Sunrise by Denise Hunter on my blog today, and I’m currently reading the Regency Brides collection. Here’s the first line to the second novella in the book, Masquerade Melody by Angela Bell:

    Whoever coined the phrase to “bite one’s tongue” was sorely mistaken in believing that silence inflicted mere physical harm.

    Liked by 1 person

  11. My first line is from Vanishing Point by Lisa Harris:

    Special Agent Garrett Addison snapped a photo of the freshly dug grave located inside the yellow roped-off crime scene

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

